June 2010 (To print, click the print icon on your browser
or choose print from the menu)

Winners Of The “2010 Nation's Best Advocates: 40 Lawyers Under 40” Announced

IMPACT and the National Bar Association (NBA) announced the “Nation's Best Advocates: 40 Lawyers Under 40 to recognize talented individuals (age 40 and under) within the African American legal community who have achieved prominence and distinction.  Selected nominees demonstrate a strong commitment to empowering, uplifting, and advocating within the legal community.  They represent a cross-section of legal professionals: solo practitioners, government lawyers, judges, academicians, corporate counsels, young elected officials, and others lawyers who are using their law degree in innovative ways.  Nominees were selected based on their achievement, innovation, vision, leadership, and legal community involvement.

“The NBA is extremely proud of each of the 40 Lawyers Under 40 awardees.  They have all made outstanding accomplishments in their careers and equally important in their communities,” said Mavis Thompson, NBA President.  “They are excellent representatives of the next generation of African American attorneys. The NBA encourages these awardees to join the NBA and become active with one of our many substantive law sections or diverse interest divisions, i.e. the Young Lawyers Division.  Congratulations to all of you.”

“The 2010 Nation's Best Advocates: 40 Lawyers Under 40 are continuing the tradition of legal giants in American history,” said Angela Rye, IMPACT Director of Strategic Partnerships.   “The invaluable contributions made by these attorneys set a standard for service and excellence in our communities and our Nation.”

The awardees will be celebrated on Sunday, August 8, 2010 at the Nation’s Best Advocates: 40 Lawyers Under 40 Gala during the 85th Annual NBA Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana.  Additionally, the recipients of the Nation’s Best Advocate of the Year, Excellence in Leadership, Service, Activism, and Innovation will be recognized at the event.  Online voting for these prestigious awards will commence on Tuesday, June 1, 2010. For more information, visit:

2010 Nation's Best Advocates: 40 Lawyers Under 40
Ademuyiwa Bamiduro, Assistant U.S. Attorney, US Attorney's Office for the District of Columbia
Ahmed J. Davis, Principal, Fish & Richardson
Alfreda D. Coward, Partner, Coward & Coward, P.A.
Andray K. Napolez, Associate, Baker & McKenzie, PLLC
Andrea Horton, Assistant General Counsel, Chicago Public Schools
Angela J. Scott, Attorney-Advisor, US Department of Health and Human Services
Antavius Weems, Managing Partner, The Weems Firm, P.C.
Auma N. Reggy, Partner, Adorno & Yoss
Benjamin L. Crump, Principal, Parks & Crump, LLC
Bizunesh Scott, Chief Counsel, Pipeline & Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
Brianna E. Williams, Associate, Thomas Kennedy Sampson & Tompkins LLP
Chanelle Hardy, Chief of Staff, Congressman Artur Davis
Charles Hamilton Houston III, Partner/Managing Member, Gonzalez Saggio & Harlan LLP
Christopher M. Chestnut, Principal, The Chestnut Firm
Colette Dodson Honorable, Commissioner, Arkansas Public Service Commission
Conti J. Moore, Associate, Marquis & Aurbach
David L. Rawlinson II, General Counsel and Vice President, ITT Corporation
Fiona Philip, Partner, Howrey LLP
Gilda Clift Breland, Shareholder & Officer, McBirney & Chuck, P.C.
Heather McTeer Hudson, Mayor, City of Greenville, Mississippi
Jaime Harrison, Principal & Democratic Strategist, Podesta Group
James M. Williams, Partner, Gauthier, Houghtaling & Williams
Jamon Hicks, Senior Associate, The Cochran Firm
Jeanne M. Gills, Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP
Jennifer Fisher, General Counsel, Marshall & Swift/Boeckh
Joseph M. Drayton, Counsel, Kaye Scholer LLP
LaToya C. Fortner Merritt, Partner, Phelps Dunbar LLP
Leslie Overton, Partner, Jones Day
Lisa Taylor, Trial Attorney, US Department of Justice
Meca Walker, Associate Judge, 309th Family District Court, Harris County
Nefeterius Akeli McPherson, Senior Media Affairs Liaison, Office of US Trade Representative
Reginald McGahee, Associate Dean, Howard University School of Law
Scott W. Reid, Partner, Cozen O’Connor
Shukura Ingram, Associate, Thomas Kennedy Sampson & Tompkins LLP
Syeta N. Glanton, Policy Advisor, State of Iowa Governor’s Office
Tamika Tremaglio, Managing Director, Huron Consulting Group
Tonya T. Robinson, Partner, WilmerHale
Venus Johnson, Deputy District Attorney, Alameda County District Attorney
Vince H. Cohen, Jr., Partner, Schertler & Onorato LLP
William K. Whitner, Partner, Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP

MicrosoftMorgan Lewis MCCA's Strategic Diversity SponsorsWal-Mart Womble Carlyle