MCCA is committed to diversity and inclusion in the legal field. It is important to recognize the companies, law firms, and individuals that demonstrate excellent leadership in legal departments and the practice of law across the country.  We’re proud to honor and distinguish companies and firms that tried something new and succeeded, whether in recruitment and retention, mentoring, pipeline initiatives, LGBT initiatives, or client inclusion feedback.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The MCCA Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to an individual who has made significant advancements in engendering a society that fully appreciates, celebrates, and recognizes the value of diversity. Awardees are trailblazers whose personal and/or professional paths have helped to affect change in our society and inspire others. While not limited to the legal profession, awardees display values and commitments in line with the MCCA mission.

 Eric Holder Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree 

Employer of Choice Award

The Employer of Choice Award is designed to spotlight industry leaders who have a commitment to and succeed at creating and maintaining an inclusive corporate legal department.

Thomas L. Sager Award

The Thomas L. Sager Award is presented to law firms that have demonstrated sustained commitment to advance the hiring, retention and promotion of diverse attorneys.

George B. Vashon Innovator Award

George B. Vashon Innovator Award is presented to in-house legal departments, law firms, and bar associations that have led the way with innovative best practices to assist diverse attorneys in the legal profession.

Paula L. Ettelbrick Award

MCCA created the Paula L. Ettelbrick Award to celebrate unparalleled achievement by an individual or an organization in advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender attorneys. The award is named for the late Paula L. Ettelbrick whose quarter-century of work of organizations like Lambda Legal Defense and National Gay and Lesbian Task Force and the International Lesbian and Gay Human Rights Commission assisted thousands of individuals. Her career as an educator and mentor at institutions like New York University, Columbia University, and the University of Michigan, helped transform the national discussion regarding equality.


MCCA Video Corner

Eric H. Holder, Jr., former U.S. Attorney General is the recipient of MCCA's 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Employer of Choice Awards for all five regions is presented at the MCCA Diversity Gala at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC.

Starting in 2016, MCCA will select three national finalists and one winner for the Thomas L. Sager Award. This award will be presented at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC on July 19, 2016.

The Paula L. Ettelbrick Award is presented at the Creating Pathways to Diversity® Conference in Washington, DC.

The George B. Vashon Innovator Awards is presented at the Creating Pathways to Diversity® Conference in Washington, DC.

MicrosoftMorgan Lewis MCCA's Strategic Diversity SponsorsWal-Mart Womble Carlyle